Distinguished Scientists

The Distinguished Scientist designation honors American Heart Association professional members who have made extraordinary contributions to cardiovascular and stroke research.

The American Heart Association's Distinguished Scientists are a prominent group of scientists and clinicians whose work has importantly advanced our understanding of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. This award was created over 10 years ago to recognize AHA/ASA members for significant, original and sustained scientific contributions that have advanced the association's mission "Building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke." Recipients of this prestigious award are honored during the Opening Session at AHA Scientific Sessions.

2017 AHA Distinguished Scientists Awardees

Bernard J. Gersh, MB, ChB, DPhil, FAHABernard J. Gersh, MB, ChB, DPhil, FAHA
Professor of Medicine, College of Medicine and
Department of Cardiovascular Diseases
Mayo Clinic Rochester
Cardiovascular Diseases
Rochester, Minn.
Stanley L. Hazen, MD, PhD, FAHAStanley L. Hazen, MD, PhD, FAHA
Chair, Department of Cellular & Molecular Medicine
Lerner Research Institute
Section Head, Preventive Cardiology & Rehabilitation, Heart and Vascular Institute
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio
Sekar Kathiresan, MD, FAHASekar Kathiresan, MD, FAHA
Director, Center for Genomic Medicine
Massachusetts General Hospital
Director, Cardiovascular Disease Initiative
Broad Institute
Boston, Mass.
Leslie A. Leinwand, PhD, FAHALeslie A. Leinwand, PhD, FAHA
Distinguished Professor – Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Chief Scientific Officer, BioFrontiers Institute
University of Colorado at Boulder
Boulder, Colo.
Mary M. McDermott, MD, FAHAMary M. McDermott, MD, FAHA
Jeremiah Stamler Professor of Medicine and Preventive Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Chicago, Ill.
Jeffrey A. Towbin, MD, FAHAJeffrey A. Towbin, MD, FAHA
Co-Director, Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
St. Jude Professor and Chief, Pediatric Cardiology
Professor and Chief of Pediatric Cardiology
University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center
Memphis, Tenn.
Denisa D. Wagner, PhD, FAHADenisa D. Wagner, PhD, FAHA
Edwin Cohn Professor of Pediatrics
Harvard Medical School
Boston Children’s Hospital
Boston, Mass.