Abstracts and Awards

Vascular Discovery: From Genes to Medicine
Scientific Sessions 2019

May 14–16, 2019
Marriott Copley Square Hotel | Boston, Massachusetts

In association with: Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology Council
Peripheral Vascular Disease Council | Genomics & Precision Medicine Council

Awards Submissions

Early Career and Mid-Career Awards
Sponsored by the ATVB, PVD and GPM Councils

Applications for these awards may be made by submitting abstracts for presentation at Vascular Discovery: From Genes to Medicine. 
Submission deadline: TBA

  • Kenneth M. Brinkhous Young Investigator Prize in Thrombosis — recognizes outstanding endeavors by new investigators in fundamental and applied research in thrombosis, including the mechanism, detection, treatment and prevention of thrombotic disorders.
  • Irvine H. Page Young Investigator Research Award — open to new investigators in arteriosclerosis and vascular biology. The award recognizes investigators in the formative years of their careers who have the potential to become future leaders in cardiovascular research.
  • Junior Investigator Award for Women — helps recruit and retain women in the field of arteriosclerosis, thrombosis and vascular biology by recognizing excellent research conducted by women.
  • Travel Awards for Young Investigators — encourage and support the efforts of early career investigators in cardiovascular research and encourage participation in ATVB, PVD and GPM activities by providing travel funds to attend the Vascular Discovery: From Genes to Medicine conference, present research in oral or poster format and engage in discussion with senior investigators.
  • Robert W. Hobson II, MD Early Career Investigator Award — recognizes an outstanding early career investigator in the field of vascular and endovascular medicine, vascular surgery or vascular biology.
  • Alan T. Hirsch, MD Mid-Career Award in Vascular Medicine — recognizes mid-level career (associate professor) investigators who are actively involved in research related to peripheral vascular disease (arterial or venous).

Other Awards

  • Jeffrey M. Hoeg Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Award for Basic Science and Clinical Research (link opens in new window) : Eligible candidates must have a doctoral degree, and have held a minimum academic rank of assistant professor for no less than 3 years, up to a maximum rank of full professor for no more than 5 years. The deadline to nominate a colleague is closed and will reopen in Fall 2018. This award honors the memory of Jeffrey M. Hoeg, M.D., chief of the Section of Cell Biology within the Molecular Disease Branch of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. He was an extraordinary research scientist and physician who, in the prime of his career, was working in the field of lipoprotein metabolism and atherosclerosis. Dr. Hoeg died in July 1998 after a courageous battle with cancer.