Sol Sherry Distinguished Lecture in Thrombosis

Updated:Dec 9,2015

Sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology

The Sol Sherry Lectureship honors the founder of the original AHA Council on Thrombosis.  During the 1960's, Dr. Sherry recognized that little attention was given to the study of thrombosis and that there was inadequate appreciation of its importance as a major health problem.  Dr. Sherry led a task force of the National Academy of Science's National Research Council, which developed a plan to bring proper attention to this disorder, resulting in a national conference on thrombosis and a major book encompassing this field; the establishment of the International Society of Thrombosis and Haemostasis; the creation of Specialized Centers of Thrombosis Research by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; and the formation of the Council on Thrombosis. 

The Sherry Lecture is one of three ATVB named lectures presented annually at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions, slotted in a session devoted to thrombosis.  Honorees are selected by ATVB Council leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.


Current Awardee:
2015J. Evan  Sadler MD, PhD, FAHA
Past honorees are as follows:
1990Charles T. Emson
1991Thomas F. Deuel
1992Kenneth G. Mann
1993Jack Hirsh
1994Barry S. Coller
1995David R. Philips
1996George J. Broze, Jr.
1997Shaun R. Coughlin
1998Lazlo Lorand
1999Philip W. Majerus
2000Stephen M. Prescott
2001Mark H. Ginsberg
2002David Ginsburg
2003Yale Nemerson
2004Denisa Wagner
2005Edward Plow
2006Jay Degen
2007Wolfram Ruf
2008Zaverio Ruggeri
2009Nigel Mackman

Sanford Shattil

2011Bruce Furie
2012Dudley Strickland
2013James Morrissey
2014Sriram Krishnaswamy

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions 2016

Scientific Sessions 2016. Call for Abstracts: April 20-June8. Scientific Sessions: Nov. 12-16. Exhibits: Nov. 13-15.