Russell Ross Lectureship in Vascular Biology

Updated:Dec 9,2015

Sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology

This lecture originated in 1982 and was designated as a vascular biology lecture in 1997 when the Arteriosclerosis Council, the Thrombosis Council and the Vascular Biology Working Group merged. In 1999 it was renamed to honor Dr. Russell Ross, who made notable contributions to the understanding of the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis and whose studies had a profound impact on atherosclerosis research and vascular biology.

The Ross Lecture is one of three ATVB named lectures presented annually at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions.  Honorees are selected by ATVB Council leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.

Current Awardee:
2015Klaus Ley M.D., FAHA
Past honorees are as follows:
1998Russell Ross, Ph.D.
1999Robert D. Rosenberg, M.D., Ph.D.
2000Michael A. Gimbrone, M.D.
2001Peter Libby, M.D.
2002Shaun R. Coughlin, M.D., Ph.D.
2003Bradford C. Berk, M.D., Ph.D.
2004Garret FitzGerald, M.D.
2005Elizabeth Nabel, M.D.
2006Mark Taubman, M.D.
2007Gary K. Owens, Ph.D.
2008Peter Newman, M.D.
2009Roy L. Silverstein, M.D.
2010Jordan Pober, M.D., Ph.D.
2011David Cheresh, Ph.D.
2012Mukesh Jain, M.D., FAHA
2013Karin Bornfeldt, Ph.D.
2014Christopher K. Glass, B.A., M.D., Ph.D.

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Emerging Science Series

Emerging Science Series Webinar

Scientific Sessions 2016

Scientific Sessions 2016. Call for Abstracts: April 20-June8. Scientific Sessions: Nov. 12-16. Exhibits: Nov. 13-15.