Katharine A. Lembright Award

Updated:Mar 18,2015

Sponsored by Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc.

Award Deadline: 
April 22, 2015 through June 19, 2015 - 5:00 pm Central (Deadline Extended)

The award recognizes and encourages excellence in cardiovascular research by established nurse scientists.  It honors Katharine A. Lembright, who as the American Heart Association's assistant director for nursing from 1960-81, played an important role in the development and growth of the Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing.

Award Information (click on each section for more information)

1987    Marie J. Cowan, PhD, RN, FAAN
1988    Linda J. Baumann, PhD, RN
1989    Erika S. Sivarajan Froelicher, PhD, RN, FAAN
1990    Elizabeth Hahn Winslow, PhD, RN, FAAN
1991    Susan R. Gortner, PhD, RN, FAAN
1992    Carolyn L. Murdaugh, PhD, RN, FAAN
1993    Kathleen Dracup, DNSc, RN, FAAN
1994    Marguerite Kinney, DNSc, RN, FAAN
1995    Susan L. Woods, PhD, RN
1996    Karyn Holm, PhD, RN, FAAN
1997    Laura Hayman, PhD, RN, FAAN
1998    Jerilyn K. Allen, RN, ScD
1999    Sandra B. Dunbar, RN, DSN, FAAN
2000    Dorie Schwertz, PhD
2001    Barbara J. Drew, RN, PhD
2002    Joanne S. Harrell, PhD, RN, FAAN
2003    Martha N. Hill, PhD, BSN, MSN
2004    Diane Becker, RN, ScD, MPH
2005    Barbara Riegel, DNSc, RN
2006    Debra Moser, PhD, DNSc, RN, FAHA
2007    Kathleen Grady, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
2008    Mariann Piano, RN, PhD, FAAN, FAHA
2009    Jean McSweeney, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
2010    Lora Burke, PhD, RN, MPH, FAHA
2011    Marjorie Funk, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
2012    Pamela Mitchell, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
2013    Tiny Jaarsma, RN, PhD
2014    Nancy Artinian PhD, RN, FAHA, FPCNA, FAAN
2015    Susan J. Pressler  PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA


Awards: council.awards@heart.org

Membership: ahacustomerservice@lww.com

Password/Login: sessionsadmin@heart.org

Abstract Submission: program.participant@heart.org

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions

Scientific Sessions 2016
Scientific Sessions is the leading cardiovascular meeting in the country with over 17,000 professionals attending annually, and over 22,000 total attendees, as reported by the Healthcare Convention and Exhibitor’s Association. 

New Orleans, LA
Nov. 12–16, 2016

Are You A FAHA?
Become a Fellow of the American Heart Association. Get details on eligibility, criteria, benefits and how to apply.
Learn how to become a Fellow of the American Heart Association