Irvine Page & Alva Bradley Lifetime Achievement Award

Updated:Oct 8,2015

Sponsored by the Council on Hypertension

Nominations for the award will be accepted Jan. 26–May 26, 2015.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is named in honor of Dr. Irvine Page and Alva Bradley, who played a prominent role in establishing the National Foundation for High Blood Pressure Research in 1945. The foundation became the Council for High Blood Pressure Research for the American Heart Association in 1949. The council's name changed to Council on Hypertension in 2015.

The Page-Bradley Lifetime Achievement Award is presented each year to an individual who has had a lifetime of outstanding achievements in the field of hypertension and has served as a role model through service, research and teaching. In general, the recipient of this award must have had a career spanning at least 25 years.

A candidate may be nominated an unlimited number of times by different individuals in the same year. The Awards Committee will assess the candidates' overall scientific, teaching and service contributions to the field of hypertension and to the Council on Hypertension.

Electronic submission of a nomination through the Council Awards Application System is required.  Hard copies of any part of the nomination cannot be accepted. 

The nomination file (submitted on the nominee’s behalf) should contain the following documents in PDF format:

  • Nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography 
  • Letter of nomination and two additional supporting letters from individuals who are familiar with the nominee's contribution to the field of hypertension and service to the council.

A username and password previously set up through online profile registration at  My American Heart for Professionals will be necessary to access the Application System.  If you have not created an online profile yet, please visit My American Heart for Professionals to create an online member profile before accessing the Council Awards Application System.  AHA Professional Members who are creating an online profile for the first time should make sure to register using their AHA membership identification numbers.

The award will be presented at the Hypertension Scientific Sessions in September and consists of a $2,000 honorarium, a plaque, travel and expenses for the recipient and spouse, and complimentary registration to the conference.

All nominations must be received through the Council Awards Application System by 5 p.m. Central Standard Time on May 20, 2015.  Please submit nominations as early as possible before the deadline.





Abstract Submission:

Irvine Page – Alva Bradley
Lifetime Achievement Award
Past Honorees

1990   Aram V. Chobanian, MD
1991   Harriet P. Dustan, MD
1992   Ray W. Gifford, Jr., MD
1993   Edward D. Frohlich, MD
1994   Stevo Julius, MD, ScD
1995   William F. Ganong, MD
1996   Edward G. Biglieri, MD
1997   Norman M. Kaplan, MD
1998   David H.P. Streeten, MD
1999   Myron H. Weinberger, MD
2000   Patrick J. Mulrow, MD
2001   Robert M. Carey, MD
2002   Suzanne Oparil, MD
2003   Allyn L. Mark, MD
2004   John C. McGiff, MD
2005   Alberto Nasjletti, MD
2006   Christopher Wilcox, MD, PhD
2007   Ernesto L. Schiffrin, MD, PhD
2008   K. Bridget Brosnihan, PhD
2009   Leopoldo Raij, MD
2010   Theodore Goodfriend, MD
2011   Hiroko Nishimura, MD, DMSc
2012   James Sowers, MD
2013   Clinton Webb, BS, MS, PhD
2014   Brian J. Morris, DSc, PhD, FAHA
2014   Christine Baylis, PhD

Hypertension Scientific Sessions

Council on Hypertension 2016 Scientific Sessions

Sept. 14–17, 2016
The Dolphin Hotel
Orlando, FL