Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Lecture

Updated:Jul 18,2014
Sponsored by the Council on Hypertension

This honorary lecture was established in 1977 in honor of Arthur Curtis Corcoran.  Dr. Corcoran’s major achievement was his early application of clearance methods in both hypertensive patients and animals.

The Corcoran Lecture is presented annually at the AHA High Blood Pressure Scientific Sessions by a distinguished honoree from the field of hypertension.  The Council on Hypertension will be accepting nominations for the 2014 Corcoran Lecture from January 12 - April 22, 2015.

Lecture Information (click on the sections below for more information)

1977    Börje Johansson
1978    J. Ian S. Robertson, M.D.
1979    E. Eric Muirhead, M.D.
1980    Frederic Bartter, M.D.
1981    Bengt Samuelsson, M.D.
1982    Pierre L. Corvol, M.D.
1983    Michael S. Brown, M.D.
             Joseph L. Goldstein, M.D.
1984    Wai Yiu Cheung, Ph.D.
1985    Robert C. Tarazi, M.D.
1986    Robert J. Lefkowitz, M.D.
1987    Edgar Haber, M.D.
1988    Harriet P. Dustan, M.D.
1989    Aram V. Chobanian, M.D.
1990    Hugh E. deWardener, M.D.
1991    Detlev Ganten, M.D.
1992    Stevo Julius, M.D.    
1993    Haralambos Gavras, M.D.
1994    Salvador Moncada, M.D. Ph.D.
1995    Masashi Yanagisawa, M.D. Ph.D.
1996    Edward D. Frohlich, M.D.
1997    Alberto Nasjletti, M.D.
1998    Suzanne Oparil, M.D.
1999    Norman K. Hollenberg, M.D.
2000    Friedrich Luft, M.D.
2001    L. Gabriel Navar, Ph.D.
2002    Gordon Williams, M.D.
2003    Willa A. Hsueh, M.D.
2004    Anna F. Dominczak, M.D.
2005    Carlos Ferrario, M.D.
2006    Thomas M. Coffman, M.D.
2007    Curt D. Sigmund, Ph.D.
2008    Gregory Fink, Ph.D.
2009    Toshiro Fujita, M.D.
2010    Timothy L. Reudelhuber, Ph.D.
2011    Jan Danser, Ph.D.
2012    Robin Davisson, PhD, FAHA
2013    Mohan Raizada, BSC, MSc, PhD
2014    Sadayoshi Ito, MD, PhD


Nominations are due in the
Council Awards Application System by 5:00 pm CST on April 22, 2015.
Nominations should be submitted as early as possible before the deadline.

For questions, please contact:

Archi Rimal
Awards & Lectures Manager, Professional Memberships
Phone: (214) 706-1181 

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ
Hilton SF Union Square
San Francisco, CA
September 9-12, 2014

Registration & Housing Information


Professional Online Network

Connect with over 30,000 heart and stroke professionals.