Robert G. Siekert New Investigator Award

Updated:Jul 5,2011

International Stroke Conference 2016, Feb. 16-19, 2016

In recognition of Dr. Robert G. Siekert, founding chairman of the American Heart Association’s International Conference on Stroke and Cerebral Circulation, this award encourages new investigators to undertake or continue stroke-related research.

The deadline for abstract submission is August 16, 2011, 5 PM CDT.
The deadline for the upload of award application materials is August 18, 2011, 5 PM CDT.

Siekert Award Information

The applicant must meet the following criteria to be considered for this award:

  • All applicants must be members of the AHA/ASA.
  • The candidate must have a doctoral degree.
  • The candidate must have completed postgraduate training and be within five years of first Assistant Professor appointment.
  • The candidate must submit an abstract for the International Stroke Conference 2016 in accordance with the rules and regulations for submitting AHA abstracts.
  • An individual may apply for only one award to be presented at the International Stroke Conference 2016.
  • Previous winners for this award are not eligible to re-enter the competition in subsequent years.
  • Only one abstract per candidate will be considered. The applicant should be the first and presenting author.
  • There is no citizenship requirement for this award.
  • Women and under-represented groups are encouraged to apply.

ISC Abstract Submission

For questions, please contact:

Telephone: (888) 242-2453 (US – toll free) or (214) 570-5935 (International)

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ