Kenneth M. Brinkhous Young Investigator Award in Thrombosis

Updated:Dec 9,2015

Sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology

The Kenneth M. Brinkhous Young Investigator Prize in Thrombosis recognizes outstanding endeavors by new investigators in fundamental and applied research in Thrombosis including the mechanism, detection, treatment, and prevention of thrombotic disorders.

Award Information

  • Applicants must be a member of the American Heart Association. (membership number required to complete award application).
  • Persons with doctoral degrees are eligible for 10 years following receipt of their terminal degree. For persons with medical degrees, clinical training is not included in the number of years noted.
  • Applicant must have a sustained research effort in any area related to thrombosis as evidenced by at least one prior peer-reviewed manuscript in the field.
  • Finalists from previous years are not eligible.
  • There are no citizenship requirements.

Application Deadline
Applications must be submitted by Jan. 13, 2016.

Past Recipients
1989   Sriram Krishanaswamy, Ph.D.
1990   Joseph C. Loftus, Ph.D.
1991   Marshall S. Runge, M.D., Ph.D.
1992   William P. Fay, M.D.
1994   Chaoyang Li, M.D.
1996   Ulhas P. Naik, Ph.D.
1997   Nicholas W. Shworak, M.D., Ph.D.
1997   Andrew S. Weyrich, Ph.D.
1998   Glen E. Cooke, M.D.
1999   Mark L. Kahn, M.D.
2000   No Finalists
2001   No Finalists
2002   Thomas Gerard Diacovo, M.D.
2003   Sharlene M. Day, M.D.
2004   Peter Bodary, Ph.D.
2005   Ruhul Abid, M.D., Ph.D.
2006   No Finalists
2007   Brian G. Petrich, Ph.D.
2007   Hansjorg Schwertz
2008   Craig Morrell, D.V.M., Ph.D.
2009   Wolfgang Bergmeier, Ph.D.
2010   Rafal Pawlinski, Ph.D.
2011   Anil Chauhan, Ph.D.
2012   Michael Holinstat, Ph.D., and Philip Owens, III, Ph.D.
2013   Lucia Stefanini, Ph.D.
2014   Feng Ye, Ph.D.
2015   Lei Yuan, MD, PhD

Questions may be directed to Julie Green at

Early Career Voice Blog


Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ