Women in Cardiology Mentoring Award

Updated:Feb 4,2015
Sponsored by the Council on Clinical Cardiology

The Awards deadline has passed. Applications are no longer being accepted.

The Women in Cardiology Mentoring Award recognizes individuals who have an outstanding record of effectively mentoring women cardiologists and underscores the importance of mentoring in the professional development of women.  The honoree will be acknowledged at the annual Council Dinner at Scientific Sessions in November.

Award Information (click the sections below for more information)

1999    Nanette K. Wenger, MD
2000    Michael H. Crawford, MD
2001    Kathryn A. Taubert, PhD
2002    Kiran B. Sagar, MD
2003    Sanjiv Kaul, MD
             Roberta Williams, MD
2004    Carl Apstein, MD
2005    Brenda Armstrong, MD
             Robert Bonow, MD
2006    Morton Arnsdorf, MD
2007    Linda Gillam, MD
2008    Elyse Foster, MD
             Judith Hochman, MD
2009    Noel Bairey Merz, MD
2010    Award not presented
2011    Laura Wexler, MD
2012    Emelia Benjamin, MD
2013   Malissa Wood, BA,MD
2014   Martha Gulati, MD, MS, FACC,FAHA


For questions, please contact:
Awards & Lectures Manager, Professional Memberships
E-mail: council.awards@heart.org
Phone: (214) 706-1181

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions

Scientific Sessions 2015
Scientific Sessions is the leading cardiovascular meeting in the country with over 17,000 professionals attending annually, and over 22,000 total attendees, as reported by the Healthcare Convention and Exhibitor’s Association. 

Orlando, FL
Nov. 7–11, 2015

Professional Online Network

Connect with over 30,000 heart and stroke professionals.