Surgery Mentoring Award

Updated:Mar 18,2015

Sponsored by the Council on Cardiovascular Surgery and Anesthesia

Award Deadline:  April 22, 2015 through June 19, 2015 - 5:00 pm Central (Deadline Extended)

The CVSA Council annually honors one of its members who has actively guided junior researchers to build future generations of cardiovascular scientists and surgeons. This award recognizes a senior scientist who has a record of providing exceptional support for scientists in cardiothoracic and vascular surgery, anesthesiology and other related fields individually and globally through mentoring and advocacy.

The honoree will be recognized at the CVSA Council Dinner at Scientific Sessions in November.

Award Information (click on each section below for more information)

2002   Richard D. Weisel, MD
2003   Robert Thompson, MD
2004   Sidney Levitsky, MD
2005   Timothy Gardner, MD
2006   Shukri Khuri, MD
2007   William Pearce, MD
2008   William A. Baumgartner, MD
2009   Award not given
2010   Hartzell V. Schaff, MD
2011   L. Henry Edmunds, Jr., MD
2012   Robert Guyton, MD
2013 Pedro Del Nido, MD
2014 Lawrence H. Cohn, MD
2015 Nancy  Nussmeier MD FAHA





Abstract Submission:


Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions

Scientific Sessions 2016
Scientific Sessions is the leading cardiovascular meeting in the country with over 17,000 professionals attending annually, and over 22,000 total attendees, as reported by the Healthcare Convention and Exhibitor’s Association. 

New Orleans, LA
Nov. 12–16, 2016

Professional Online Network

Connect with over 30,000 heart and stroke professionals.