Stroke Council Award

Updated:Dec 7,2015

Sponsored by the Stroke Council

Diagnosis and Treatment ImageThe Stroke Council Award recognizes and encourages those who actively work to integrate stroke and heart disease in clinical care, education or research.  Individuals committed to promoting wider recognition of stroke in the cardiovascular community and of heart disease in the stroke community should be recognized for their unique efforts to promote the mission of the AHA.

The honoree will be acknowledged at the AHA Scientific Sessions in November and will present a special lecture.

The current honoree is Lewis B. Morgenstern  MD FAHA

Award Information (click on the sections below for more information)

2005    Anne Leonard, RN, BSN, MPH, FAHA
2006    Jeffrey Saver, MD, FAHA
2007    Margaret Kelly-Hayes, EdD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
2008    Vladimir Hachinski, CM, MD, FRCPC, DSc, FAHA
2009    Pamela Duncan, PT, PhD, FAPTA, FAHA
2010    Michael Sloan, MD, FAAN, FAHA
2011    Debbie Summers, MSN, ACNS-BC, CNRN, CCRN, FAHA
2012    Scott Kasner, MD, PhD, FAHA
2013    Edward Jauch, MD, MS, FAHA,FACEP
2014    Cathy A. Sila, MD, FAHA





Abstract Submission:

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions

Scientific Sessions 2016
Scientific Sessions is the leading cardiovascular meeting in the country with over 17,000 professionals attending annually, and over 22,000 total attendees, as reported by the Healthcare Convention and Exhibitor’s Association. 

New Orleans, LA
Nov. 12–16, 2016