James B. Herrick Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cardiology

Updated:Mar 12,2015

Sponsored by the Council on Clinical Cardiology

Award Deadline:
April 22, 2015 through June 19, 2015 - 5:00 pm Central (Deadline Extended)

The James B. Herrick Award is presented by the American Heart Association's Council on Clinical Cardiology.  This award honors a physician whose scientific achievements have contributed profoundly to the advancement and practice of clinical cardiology.

The Herrick Award, consisting of a medallion and citation, is conferred annually during the Council on Clinical Cardiology Annual Dinner and Business Meeting during the Scientific Sessions of the American Heart Association.

In establishing the James B. Herrick Award, the Council on Clinical Cardiology pays homage to a great clinician, as well as to those who have emulated him in advancing the field of cardiology.

Dr. Herrick (1861-1954) was a pioneer among cardiologists.  His contributions were many, but perhaps most significant was his classic paper on “Clinical Features of Sudden Obstruction of the Coronary Arteries,” published in 1912.  Besides giving the medical world a definitive description of coronary thrombosis, his studies emphasized the important observation that sudden obstruction of a coronary artery is not necessarily fatal.

Dr. Herrick lived to see his investigations confirmed and acclaimed.  His life was rich with honors.   He served as president of the American Heart Association in 1927-28, and received its Gold Heart Award in 1951.

Award Information (click on the sections below for more information)

Any living physician, regardless of specialty, may be nominated.  The award is based on the recipient’s contributions to one or more of the following broad areas:

  • Advancement of scientific knowledge, either basic or clinical research, that relates directly to clinical cardiology
  • Teaching of cardiology at undergraduate, graduate or postgraduate levels
  • Improvement in the practice of cardiology
  • Service to the mission of the American Heart Association



Awards: council.awards@heart.org

Membership: ahacustomerservice@lww.com

Password/Login: sessionsadmin@heart.org

Abstract Submission: program.participant@heart.org

James B. Herrick Award

Herrick Award 2012 Photo
2012 honoree Bernard Gersh, MB, ChB, DPhil and Council Chair L. Kristin Newby, MD, MHS

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions

Scientific Sessions 2016
Scientific Sessions is the leading cardiovascular meeting in the country with over 17,000 professionals attending annually, and over 22,000 total attendees, as reported by the Healthcare Convention and Exhibitor’s Association. 

New Orleans, LA
Nov. 12–16, 2016