ATVB Distinguished Achievement Award

Updated:Dec 9,2015
The scientific councils’ Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the affairs of a scientific council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.  The latter could be:
  1. Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  2. Contributions to teaching and/or clinical care in the field
  3. Professional leadership in national or international organizations

The honoree should be a present or past member of a scientific council of the American Heart Association.

The ATVB Distinguished Achievement Award is presented annually during the ATVB Business Meeting and Awards Reception at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions.  Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award should be presented to the ATVB Leadership Committee.

The following is a list of past ATVB Distinguished Achievement Award honorees:

1982 Gardner McMillian, M.D., FAHA
1983 Sol Sherry, M.D.
1985 Howard E. Eder, M.D.
1986 Edwin W. Salzman, M.D.
1988 Daniel Steinberg, M.D., Ph.D.
1989 Stanford Wessler, M.D.
1991 Richard Havel, M.D., FAHA
1992 John Hoak, M.D., FAHA
1994 Edwin L. Bierman, M.D.
1995 Earl W. Davie, Ph.D., FAHA
1997 Scott M. Grundy, M.D., Ph.D., FAHA
1998 Thomas F. Deuel, M.D., FAHA
1999 Victor J. Dzau, M.D., FAHA
2000 Jan Breslow, M.D., FAHA
2001 Samuel I. Rapaport, M.D., FAHA
2002 Donald Heistad, M.D., FAHA
2003 Henry Ginsberg, M.D., FAHA
2004 John Brunzell, M.D., FAHA
2005 Elizabeth Nabel, M.D., FAHA
2006 Linda Curtiss, Ph.D., FAHA
2007 Donald Heistad, M.D., FAHA
2008 Alan Daugherty, Ph.D., D.Sc., FAHA
2009Göran Hansson, M.D.
2010Mark Taubman, M.D.
2011Robert Hegele, M.D., FAHA
Murray Huff, Ph.D., FAHA

Lawrence Rudel, Ph.D., FAHA

2013Martha Cathcart, Ph.D., FAHA
2014Kathy Griendling, Ph.D.
2015Kerry-Anne Rye  Ph.D., FAHA

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions

Scientific Sessions 2016
Scientific Sessions is the leading cardiovascular meeting in the country with over 17,000 professionals attending annually, and over 22,000 total attendees, as reported by the Healthcare Convention and Exhibitor’s Association. 

New Orleans, LA
Nov. 12–16, 2016