3CPR Max Harry Weil Award

Updated:Dec 9,2015

Sponsored by the Council on Cardiopulmonary, Critical Care, Perioperative and Resuscitation (3CPR)

Award Deadline: April 22, 2015 through June 19, 2015 - 5:00 pm Central (Deadline Extended)

The 3CPR Max Harry Weil Award was established in 2012. The award acknowledges the accomplishments of young investigators and to encourage investigators to continue their research in biomedical sciences relevant to the mission and scope of the 3CPR council.

This award honors the memory of Max Harry Weil, MD, PhD, considered the “father of critical care medicine” and a pioneer in 3CPR science.

Weil, died on July 29, 2011, at his home in Rancho Mirage, Calif, at the age of 84. He was an acclaimed physician who received numerous accolades in the cardiology and critical care field. He was the founding president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine; a Fellow of the American Heart Association, a master fellow of the College of Chest Physicians; a master of the American College of Physicians; and a fellow of the American College of Cardiology. He was the author or coauthor of more than 1,300 articles, chapters and books, and held more than two dozen patents.

Born in Switzerland and raised in Germany, Weil came to New York as a child and ultimately earned his doctorate in medicine at the SUNY Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine and a PhD in physiology at the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota. He came to California in the 1950s and opened the state’s first heart catheterization facility at City of Hope Medical Center in Duarte. Weil spent 23 years on faculty at USC and working at L.A.’s County Hospital and Hollywood Presbyterian Medical Center, opening one of the first intensive care units in the nation. He started the Institute of Critical Care Medicine in 1959. Later, he chaired the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Health Sciences/Chicago Medical School, and headed its cardiology and critical care divisions. In 2004, he was awarded the AHA’s Lifetime Achievement Award in Cardiac Resuscitation Science.  Dr. Weil was recognized by the World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine in 2009. He personally trained more than 400 physician and bioengineering fellows from all over the world, and at the time of his death was still teaching CPR, designing research projects and supervising the education of research fellows in 3CPR science.  His life and his work were dedicated to pioneering research and tough but caring mentorship to any and all young investigators interested in 3CPR science. This award, issued in his name, will preserve and grow that vision for future generations. 

Finalists will be honored and a winner will be named at the annual council dinner at AHA Scientific Sessions in November.

2015 Winner: Roxane Paulin MSc, PhD

2014 Winner: Kotaro Kida

2013 Winner
: Zachary Goldberger

2012 Winner: Theresa Olasveengen

Award Information (click on the sections below for more information)

  • All applicants for the award must be members of the Council on Cardiopulmonary, Critical Care, Pulmonary & Resuscitation at the time of application.   If you need to become an AHA/ASA Professional Member, you should do so by May 30 for your membership to be processed in time for the application submission deadline.  Learn more about AHA membership.
  • Candidates must be working in any area of research relevant to 3CPR ranging from the whole spectrum of molecular and clinical resuscitation science to molecular and clinical studies of the normal and diseased pulmonary circulation.
  • Candidates include current postdoctoral trainees or fellows, or Ph.D.s and/or M.D.s in active research who have completed training only within the last four years, as of the award application date.  Ph.D.s and/or M.D.s who are still within in the first four years after their first faculty appointment, as of the award application date, are also eligible.
  • Previous finalists and winners of this award are not eligible to re-enter the competition in subsequent years.
  • The submitted manuscript may have been published in any peer-reviewed journal within 12 months prior to the submission deadline. The manuscript may have co-authors, but the applicant should be the first author.
  • There are no citizenship requirements.
  • Abstracts eligible for this award must be based upon projects that adhere to the American Heart Association’s policies governing all research awards, regardless of whether the project was funded by the American Heart Association.  The AHA Research Award policies include (but are not limited to) research using human subjects or animals and stem cell research.
  • Candidates may also apply for the 3CPR Cournand & Comroe Young Investigator Award in the same year, but not with the same research project, abstract, or manuscript.  Candidates will also be eligible for consideration for the 3CPR Best Abstract Awards.
  • All finalists must be able to attend the 3CPR Annual Council Dinner at Scientific Sessions in order to accept the award.


Awards: council.awards@heart.org

Membership: ahacustomerservice@lww.com

Password/Login: sessionsadmin@heart.org

Abstract Submission: program.participant@heart.org

Become A Member

Become a professional member of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

Join or renew your AHA/ASA Professional Membership
to qualify for members-only awards, and:

• Affiliate with one of 16 Scientific Councils.
• Save on AHA/ASA Scientific Sessions.
• Save on print publications.
• Apply for research funding and not pay a fee
• Enjoy many more membership benefits.

Promo code: WDJ008ZZ

Scientific Sessions 2016

Scientific Sessions 2016. Call for Abstracts: April 20-June8. Scientific Sessions: Nov. 12-16. Exhibits: Nov. 13-15.

Featured News for 3CPR

  • Sessions2015_Reg_280x181
  • DS-5610 PON Banner 280X181
  • CV Risk Calculator Image 280x181
  • mahCouncil_widget280x181_ecVoiceBlog
  • mahCouncil_widget280x181_councilAwards

3CPR Awards and Lectures